Argentina

img_1650
Reconquista, Santa Fe, Argentina, 1995

I finished my two-year mission for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in Rosario, Argentina in 1996.  I had looked forward to serving the Lord as a missionary for most of my life. Right before leaving at the age of 19, I remember feeling amazed that something that always seemed so far away snuck up on me somehow.  I believed that consecrating two years of my life full-time to teaching the gospel of Jesus Christ would not only be the most important thing I could do for others, but that it would lay the foundation for my own life as well (Matthew 10:39 – 39 He that findeth his life shall lose it: and he that loseth his life for my sake shall find it.)

img_1646
Reconquista, Santa Fe, Argentina, 1995

 

 

 

 

img_1625
The Reyes brothers & Napoleon w/ Michael Boudrero in Rosario, Argentina

 

img_1610
Digging a septic Recreo, Santa Fe, Argentina in 1995

 

img_1665
Brenda & Nara Rosario, Argentina, 1996

 

img_1666
Sandra, Hugo, Jonatan, Franco Cuesta with Jason Hoyt, Rosario, Argentina, 1996

 

img_1660
Los Cuesta (menos Pablo) with Jason Hoyt, 1996

 

img_1676
Coming home in Orange County, California, 1996

 

img_1677
Sarah, Jennie, Monica, Maren, Dad, Mom, Rebecca & Elissa Stapley Welcome Home in Orange County, CA 1996

I won’t try to put into words here what those two years meant to me or what it was like to find my life by losing it in His service.  Suffice it to say, the mission changed my life.

Last year marked my 20 year mission anniversary and, thanks to Jess, I returned for the first time with her and our three oldest — Madi, Caleb, and Lucy — over the holidays.  Now, just one month later, it feels like a dream all over again.  We spent the first 5 days in Rosario, hustling all over the city that I love to find and reunite with people I love.  I lost contact with almost every one of them.  Thanks to Facebook, I was able to find many of them and arrange for visits.

We arrived in Buenos Aires on a Saturday, rented a car, and drove the three+ hours up to Rosario.  Here are some excerpts from my journal:

“These last 3 days have been some of the best of my life.  After 20 years, I’ve returned to Rosario, to my mission w/ Jess, Madi, Caleb, and Lucy.  I can’t put into words the feelings of joy and emotion I’ve felt to reunite with these dear people who have almost become more myth or legend than real.”

slide1
The Big Trip

 

img_2036
Downtown Rosario, 2016

Each of the people you see below have unique and sacred life stories all their own.  It’s not really my place to tell their stories here on their behalf.  Let me just say, I love them and they know I do.  There is one story I’ll tell because the Fagunde family has given me permission to tell it …

img_3362
Fagunde family

The Fagundes

I was transfered to an area along with my companion. Since we were both new to the area, we decided to do splits almost every day to cover more ground. The first Sunday there, we got a ward list and asked the bishop who we should reactivate. He circled about 8 names. For some reason, I asked about the Fagundes who I read on the list but I didn’t recognize as a family I met that day at church. He said, “They haven’t been at church for years. We’ve all tried many times. They don’t want visits. Don’t waste your time.”

Well that evening as we were planning our week, the Spirit whispered to me to try and visit the Fagundes. So, I put them on my planner for every day. Someone finally came to the door after a few tries. It was their 14 year old son who said, “My mom says, ‘She’s not here.’” I told him to tell his mom that I’m going to keep coming back until she is there. Finally, on Saturday, the dad was home and he let me in. We walked through their home and on to their backyard. We turned over buckets and cinder blocks in a circle for a visit. They had 7 children from 14 years on down. I shared a brief testimony with the parents and recognized that the children were not that interested so I changed gears. I asked, “Who wants to be in a play?” They all shot their hands in the air. I gave them their parts and the play began with the opening scene … a terrible earthquake caused them all to die and now they were trying to get into Heaven. I had the tie on so I played God. The first one knocked (they actually clapped b/c that’s what you do in Argentina) and I said …

– Yes, what do you want?
– Can I come in?
– What were you when you were alive?
– A thief?
– A thief?!
– No, no you can’t come in :) Next!

This exchange/interview repeated with each character (Fireman, Missionary, married couple, etc.) Finally, I turned to the couple and said, “Life is short brother and sister Fagunde. You have some children here over the age of 8. You need to come back to church and baptize your children. Will you come to church tomorrow? They said yes. But, the next day, as all missionaries are accustomed everywhere in the world, they didn’t come. I stopped by their home and they gave me their excuse and said they’d come the next Sunday. Great. The following Sunday … they came! I remember Bro. Fagunde walking in the church with his 14 year old son. The Bishop and ward members were shocked. Two days later I was transferred.

As I took the long bus ride north to my next area, I was excited for the future, but I also puzzled at why I was sent to that area for 2 1/2 weeks. 5 months later I learned why. And some 21 years later, I understood more …

5 months later, I returned to that city for a mission conference. A big missionary (David Howell) came up to me, read my name tag and said, “You’re Elder Sedgwick!” Yes. He gave me a big hug and lifted me off the ground and said …

– “Thank you!”
– Thank you for what?
– Thank you from Bro. Fagunde!
– Who?
– What do you mean, who!?
– No, sorry … who’s brother Fagunde?
– Don’t you remember the play you put on in their backyard?
– Oh yeah, did he baptize his son?
– Did he baptize his son? Yes. But … last month, Bro. Fagunde and his wife and children were all sealed in the temple. He said if I ever run into you to hug you and thank you from him and his family.

I was surprised and touched. What was at first a 2 1/2 week transfer that made no sense to me, now became, in a way, the most successful area of my mission. That was my memory of the Fagundes when I reached out over FB to try and find them for my trip. I found a Victor Fagunde in Rosario, Argentina who looked like a 30 year old LDS guy. I sent him a message and his response was,

“Hello, the truth is, it will be a great pleasure to see you again! We are still active, but we live in Godoy neighborhood. It would be very good to see you again. Thanks to you, my family become active again and has remained faithful ever since. My father became bishop and has been dedicated to the Church. He sent three of his children to different missions and there are some getting ready … I hope we get to see when you come. My father remembers you well and began to cry when he learned you were coming.”

Our second day in the country, we drove to the Fagundes. I barely stepped out of my car, when brother Fagunde embraced me and began to cry. Then, the same with Sis. Fagunde. I was not prepared for the emotion they showed me. We sat down in front of their home and shared our memories of what now has become a sacred visit for them and me. Bro. Fagunde told me that the he remembered the play but it wasn’t the play that got him back to Church. It was my testimony. He said, “You bore your testimony to me right when we sat down and I felt the Spirit and knew I needed to return to Church.”

We moved into his home for lunch. A traditional Argentine lunch of Asado (grilled beef/chicken). During lunch Bro. Fagunde told me that he served 6 years a bishop. He talked about his children serving missions. He talked about dozens of people he has reactivated and blessed through his ministry.

All of a sudden, it hit me why he was sharing all of that with me — he wanted me to see the ripple effect of my service. And just as suddenly, I began to weep. I was overcome with gratitude and love.

We shared our testimonies with each other one last time and visited with them and their now 10 children a bit longer and then said goodbye.

What a gift.

 

img_2088
Fagunde family in Rosario

 

img_3361
Hermano Fagunde, Barrio Godoy

 

 

 

 

img_2061
Mario Manfredi, Barrio San Martín

I taught the gospel to Mario Manfredi, with my companion Leandro Sanchez. Mario was baptized on Christmas Eve 1994. A smart, loving man. He had a ton of questions about the doctrines of the Church and studied the gospel for a long time.  I wasn’t able to find him on FB before the trip. Fortunately, he was at the first church we attended Sunday morning. It truly was a joy to see him again in church and attend sacrament meeting with him! I still have the old, light blue Book of Mormon he gave to me as a gift (I also still have his cigarettes :)

img_2040
Empanadas!

Almost everyday, I/we filled up on empanadas (pictured here), alfajores, pastries w/ dulce de leche, ice cream, choripan (whenever I saw it), milanesa, & steak w/ chimichurri sauce. We may have gained a few pounds.

img_2043
Dinner in Rosario, first night.

 

img_2044
Walking back to the hotel in downtown Rosario

 

img_2095
Veronica Galvan

Veronica Galvan … She was a teenager when I taught her and her brother and mom (Alejandro & Ester). She’s now married with 2 children of her own. Argentines LIVE off of Mate, the herbal tea I’m drinking here, but missionaries weren’t allowed to drink it. So, Veronica introduces me to the national drink — finally. More sugar, please!

 

img_2111
Veronica Galvan and her family

 

img_2131
Caleb is hoping I don’t take too much of this alfajor (pronounced alpha-hore). Two cookie/crackers with dulce de leche in between them, covered in chocolate. Every. Day.

 

img_2142
Flavia Casco & Walter & their two children.

Lucy played with Flavia’s daughter while her son showed us his love for playing rock & roll on the guitar. That boy is going to be a star! I taught Flavia in one of my first areas in the San Martin/Las Delicias area in 1994. So nice to remember old times together. She looks the same! Beautiful family.

img_2149
Josico Oviedo & Family

Josico Oviedo is a dear friend from my time in Reconquista, the northern most area of the mission. He was a young man, preparing for his mission at that time and we worked together a lot. He was called to serve in Steve and Dixie Oveson’s Buenos Aires South Mission. He’s now married with two great children. We also got some ice cream with their family another night in Villa Gobernador Gálvez.

img_2181
More helado (ice cream). We saw a sign on our drive to Rosario from Buenos Aires declaring Rosario the ice cream capital of the country. We wanted to make sure every day. This was our favorite place on Pelligrini next to the Barrio Parque Urquiza chapel.

 

img_2218
Rosario on the river, Paraná, from the top of the Monument of the Flag.

 

img_2265
Alejandro & Ester Galvan

 

img_2275
Nara & Paula Borghetto

Nara and Paula are the daughters of a couple I taught who have both since passed away.  One regret from this trip is not being able to spend as much time as I would’ve liked with them both.  I’m hopeful that we can keep in touch for years to come.

img_0014
Sandra, Jonatan, & Franco Cuesta

The Cuesta family … Hugo & Sandra and their boys Pablo, Franco & Jonatan and daughter Brenda. This was the last family I taught before returning home.  Their story is special and has had a profound impact on my life.  I’m hopeful to return to Argentina soon/pronto to attend the temple with them in Cordoba, Argentina.  I remember telling my family that I loved this family as my very own.  When I saw and embraced and talked with them again, those feelings resurfaced.  I wish we could’ve spent more time together.

 

img_0006
Reading mission journal about the Cuestas with Sandra & grandson

 

 

 

img_2238
Jonatan persuades Caleb to pledge allegiance to Rosario Central (futbol club) and renounce any fondness for Boca Juniors (Buenos Aires club) in exchange for a Rosario Central sweatshirt. Deal!

 

 

img_2303
The next night, reading mission journal and scriptures with Hugo & Franco

 

img_2311
Reading mission journal with Hugo and Jonatan

 

img_2340 Hugo Cuesta and Franco, Jonatan, and Jonatan’s son

 

 

img_2404
Iguazú

 

img_2472
Iguazú

 

 

img_2386
Madi at Iguazú

 

img_2423
Iguazú before the boat ride soaked us

 

img_2426
Jess’ parents, Becky & Gary Jewkes, joined us for the 2nd half of the trip

 

img_0230
Caleb in the Devil’s Throat up above the falls

 

 

img_0135
Paradise

 

img_2510
Patagonia

 

 

img_2511
Cozy? 2+ hr drive south of Bariloche

 

img_3702
“La Confluencia” aka paradise

 

img_2547
La Confluencia. Lodge in Patagonia.

 

img_2522
La Confluencia, perched above the river

 

img_2519
Christmas Eve dinner asado at La Confluencia

 

img_2564
Christmas Day horseback

 

img_2591
1/2 way on horseback ride, Christmas day

 

img_2597
Christmas lunch at a “refugio” (trekkers hostile in the mountains)

 

img_2598
Patagonia specialty – Lamb w/ chimichurri sauce

 

img_2600
Headed back to the lodge

 

 

img_2607
Christmas Sacrament service in the kids’ hut.

 

img_2611
Christmas sacrament

 

 

img_2624
Headed back to Bariloche, Poppy giving us a tutorial on how to get the best shot — it’s all about the foreground apparently :)

 

img_3714
So fun to have “Grandma Becky & Poppy” to make memories with.

 

img_2636
Non-stop lake action

 

img_2641
View from our flat in Bariloche

 

img_2658
Lakes for miles, Bariloche

 

img_2665
Lucy and I found a little island to ourselves for a bit, Bariloche

 

img_2674
Sort of threw 90:10 out the window for the famous Argentine asado

 

img_2675
It’s all about the chimichurri sauce for the meat

 

img_2712
Buenos Aires! Caleb and I in the birthplace of Buenos Aires/Argentina, La Boca

 

fullsizeoutput_1ffd
Buenos Aires has a European feel.

 

img_3728
La Boca neighborhood of Buenos Aires

 

img_3729
Tango is life here in B.A.

 

img_2721
Mural of Los Desaparecidos (The Disappeared) en La Boca

 

img_2719
Actual images of those who disappeared from this neighborhood in the 1970s.

 

img_2742
La Casa Rosada (The Pink House) — their version of the White House

 

img_2757
They know how to do cemeteries right.

 

 

 

img_3679

If anyone deserved a nap, it’s this remarkable woman. Jess planned the whole trip, allowing the rest of us to have the trip and memories of a lifetime. She’s the best thing that’s ever happened to me.

 

img_2759
I came back a changed man — again — from Argentina.

 

img_2780
Ammon has Argentina running in his blood too.

2 thoughts on “Argentina

Leave a Reply

